cameron smith dally m


Melbourne Storm Captain, Cameron Smith has won the Dally M Player of the Year Award for the second time, at the Star on Wednesday night.

It is a big week for Smith, as he looks ahead to lead the Melbourne Storm out in the Grand Final on Sunday night. Smith has been the most consistent player in the competition this year, as he took home the Captain of the Year Award, as well as the Hooker of the Year. Smith has broken record after record in 2017, becoming the most capped player surpassing, Darren Lockyer, and also becoming the first player to kick 1000 goals in the NRL.

North Queensland’s Michael Morgan was the runner up, with St George Illawarra Captain, Gareth Widdop, Sydney Roosters Five-Eighth Luke Keary and Cronulla skipper, Paul Gallen rounding out the top five.

Smith was not the only Storm player to get awards, with long time mate, Billy Slater awarded Fullback of the Year, Craig Bellamy getting Coach of the Year, while Suliasi Vunivalu got the top try-scorers award.

Morgan was instrumental in getting the Cowboys in the position that they are in now, stepping up in the absence of Johnathan Thurston.

Canberra’s Nick Cotric, was awarded Rookie of the Year, after a stellar debut season for the 18 year old, while Parramatta’s Clint Gutherson won the Provan Summons People’s Choice Award.

There were also some new awards introduced, with Interchange Player of the Year, Try of the Year and Tackle of the Year.

Here are the Dally M Award Winners

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Rookie of the Year: Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Holden Cup  Under 20’s Player of the Year: Jake Clifford (North Queensland Cowboys)

Top Pointscorer: Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

Top Tryscorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)

Tackle of the Year: Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels)

Try of the Year: Kyle Feldt (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment of the Year: Mitchell Pearce on ANZAC Day (Sydney Roosters)

Provan Summons Medal, People’s Choice Award: Clint Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)

Female Player of the Year: Simaima Taufa (Jillaroos)


Fullback of the Year: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

Winger of the Year: Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)

Centre of the Year: Dylan Walker (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)

Five-Eighth of the Year: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Halfback of the Year: Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)

Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Second Rower of the Year: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

Lock of the Year: Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)

Interchange Player of the Year: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)