Sport Jillaroos stars, Kezie Apps, Captain Ruan Sims and Maddie Studdon, with the Women's World Cup at Cronulla Beach

Published on October 27th, 2017 | by Jesse Godfrey



The Women’s Rugby League World Cup starts on Thursday 16th November, at the capital of the shire, Cronulla, with six nations competing.

Australia are the current World Champs, winning the 2013 World Cup against New Zealand over in the UK.

The Jillaroos will be lead by Skipper and Gerringong local, Ruan Sims, while Helensburgh stars and St George Illawarra Dragons ambassadors Kezie Apps and Samantha Bremner will also be in action. Dally M Player of the Year, Simaima Taufa, will also be representing the Jillaroos. Many of the women that featured in the Women’s Interstate Challenge in Wollongong in July, will also be representing their country. The

Canada, recently, also had a warm up game,  against Illawarra Women’s League Champions, Corrimal Cougars, over in Canada. The Cougars went through the season undefeated, and were successful, defeating Canada 20-18 in a thriller.

All pool matches, and the Semi Finals, will be held at Cronulla’s Southern Cross Group Stadium, while the final, will be prior to the men’s on Saturday 2nd December, at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

Pool A- Australia, England, Cook Islands

Pool B-New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Canada


Kezie Apps (Helensburgh, NSW), Chelsea Baker (Gladstone, QLD), Heather Ballinger (Wests Panthers, QLD), Annette Brander (Beerwah, QLD), Brittany Breayley (Ipswich, QLD), Samantha Bremner (Helensburgh, NSW) , Ali Brigginshaw (Ipswich, QLD), Karina Brown (Easts Tigers, QLD), Nakia Davis-Welsh (Redfern, NSW) , Vanessa Foliaki (Easts Tigers, NSW) , Steph Hancock (Easts Tigers, QLD) , Isabelle Kelly (North Newcastle, NSW) , Renae Kunst (Wests Panthers, QLD) , Corban McGregor (Cronulla-Caringbah, NSW) , Caitlin Moran (North Newcastle, NSW) , Lavina O’Mealey (Redfern, NSW) , Talesha Quinn (Cronulla-Caringbah, NSW) , Ruan Sims (Captain, Cronulla-Caringbah, NSW) , Maddie Studdon (Redfern, NSW) , Zahara Temara (Burleigh, QLD) , Simaima Taufa (Mounties, NSW) , Elianna Walton (Greenacre, NSW) , Meg Ward (Northern Territory) , Rebecca Young (North Newcastle, NSW) .

Coach Brad Donald



Yet to be named



Amy Hardcastle, Andrea Dobson, Beth Sutcliffe, Charlotte Booth, Claire Garner, Danielle Bound, Danika Prim, Emily Rudge, Emma Slowe, Faye Gaskin, Jenny Welsby, Jessica Courtman, Jodie Cunningham, Katherine Hepworth, Kayleigh Bulman, Kirsty Moroney, Lois Forsell, Rachel Thompson, Rhiannon Marshall, Sarah Dunn, Shona Hoyle, Stacey White, Tara-Jane Stanley.

Coach Chris Chapman


Maira Acevedo, Gillian Boag, Nina Bui, Andrea Burk, Christina Burnham, Mackenzie Fane, Kathlenn Grudzinski, Janai Haupapa, Michelle Helmeczi, Natalie King, Kelcey Leavitt, Mandy Marchak, Sabrina McDaid, Wealtha Jade Menin Naglis, Fedelia Omoghan, Megan Pakulis, Irene Patrinos, Stevi Schmoor, Natasha Smith, Elizabeth Steele, Natalie Tam, Tiera Thomas-Reynolds, Barbara Waddell, Petra Woods.

Coach Mike Castle


Racquel Anderson, Ngatokotoru Arakua, Sharlene Atai, Maitua Feterika, Teuila Fotu Moala, Louisa Gago, Georgia Hale (Vice-Captain), Honey Hireme, Amber Kani, Bunty Kuruwaka-Crowe, Laura Mariu (Captain), Lilieta Maumau, Nita Maynard, Raecene McGregor, Krystal Murray, Kimiora Nati, Apii Nicholls-Pualau, Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala, Hilda Peters, Kahurangi Peters, Krystal Rota, Aieshaleigh Stanley, Atawhai Tupaea, Shontelle Woodman.

Coach Tony Benson

Elvina Aaron, Helen Abau, Delilah Ahose, Della Audama, Akosita Baru, Christie Bulhage, Brenda Goro, Carol Humeu, Shirley Joe, Martha Karl, Gloria Kaupa, Naomi Kaupa, Amelia Kuk, Joan Kuman, Grace Mark, Mala Mark, Janet Michael, Cathy Neap (Captain), Anne Ouifa, Vanessa Palme, Fay Sogave, Jazmyn Taumafai, Vero Waula, Maima Wei.

Coach Dennis Miall.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Jesse Godfrey

21, UOW BCMS Student, 2nd year Specialise in sports writing, aspring sports journalist/writer. Looking forward to writing more articles for the Tert.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑